Lizard State “AB”&“CD”

Packaging for the vinyl edition of the 1st EP of the Garage-Rock band Lizard State.

French Garage-Rock trio ‘Lizard State’ was putting out in 2017 its first EP as a double-7 inch vinyl, entitled as the four sides of the discs: AB and CD. The group takes inspiration both in the 60s’ Rhythm’n’Blues and the bands from the 2000s (Ty Segall, Thee Oh Sees, The Mallard…) to lay down pop melodies on a swampy Rock, between Garage and Psychedelic.

They came to me in the early 2017 to design an album cover that was meant to be used on a poster as well, in order to advert an upcoming tour all across the country. But when the budget for design was cut, the band was forced to change the brief and to ask me only for a cover.

I was aware that the Garage and Psychedelic Rock have a long love story with Graphic Design and especially with posters. This is why, with the client, we quickly realized the situation: there’s no such thing as a Garage band without a poster! This is why I suggested to design an album packaging, that was both a cover and a poster.

Since the band gave me an absolute freedom for the artwork, I had to set my own rules. After a few research, I focused on the meaning of the expression “Lizard State”, that refers to the Reptilian complex.

In the evolution theory, the Homo Sapiens owns a Reptilian brain. It is the core of the brain that we have in common with the animals. It’s also the place where origins all of the primitive behaviors: impulsions, gut decisions, anger, intuitions… Only after this state, the Neocortex took shape around the Lizard Brain and now takes care of the language, communication and reflexion. I decided to offer a visualization of this moment when the animal inside of us is surfacing and the average Human, even evolved, can sometimes find its primitive nature back and only be driven by its Lizard brain.

Lizard State “AB”&“CD”

Packaging pour l’édition vinyle du premier EP du groupe garage rock Lizard State.

Le trio français de rock garage Lizard State sort en 2017 son premier EP sous la forme d’un double vinyle 45 tours, qui porte le nom des quatre faces des disques : AB et CD. Entre garage et psyché, le groupe se nourrit à la fois du Rhythm’n’Blues des années 60 et de la scène des années 2000 (Ty Segall, Thee Oh Sees, The Mallard…) pour poser des mélodies pop sur un rock marécageux.

Le groupe est venu me voir début 2017 pour la réalisation d’une pochette d’album, à décliner sur des affiches pour annoncer une tournée à venir dans toute la France. Puis, suite à une réduction du budget alloué au design, nous pensions reformuler le brief en ne réalisant qu’une pochette.

Conscient de l’énorme bagage graphique que transportent le rock garage et psyché, qui possèdent une véritable histoire de l’affiche et du poster, nous avons rapidement pris conscience du problème : un groupe de garage sans affiche, c’est inconcevable. C’est donc à ce moment que nous avons décidé de faire une pochette, qui serait en même temps une affiche.

Le groupe m’ayant laissé carte blanche sur la réalisation du visuel, j’ai dû fixer mes propres contraintes. Après quelques recherches, j’ai découvert que l’expression « Lizard State » en anglais (l’état reptilien) faisait référence au cerveau reptilien.

Dans l’évolution, l’homo sapiens possède d’abord un cerveau dit « reptilien », il s’agit de sa partie centrale que nous avons en commun avec les animaux et qui est le lieu où se forment toutes les réaction primitives : impulsions, colère, intuitions… Ce n’est qu’après que s’est développé autour le néocortex, qui nous différencie des bêtes et gère le langage, la communication et la réflexion. J’ai donc décidé de proposer une représentation visuelle de cet état, le moment où l’animal prend le dessus et où l’homme, même évolué, renoue avec ses instincts primaires et n’écoute rien d’autre que son cerveau reptilien.