U = U

Event branding and print materials for the Pride Parades all over France for the non-profit organization Aides.

Right before the World AIDS Day on the 1st of December 2016, Aides (the oldest and most important HIV-fighting non-profit organization in France) revealed (thanks to an advertising campaign by TBWA Paris) a major scientific discovery: an HIV-positive person on medication doesn’t transmit the virus anymore. Even though this discovery is widely confirmed by the medical community, it remains recent and most of people still question it.

To spread the news in the Pride Parades all across France, Aides asked me to design a simple and graphic visualization of it. We made it look like an mathematical formula: U=U, an equation that pushes forward its scientific guarantee. It stands for an internationally-understandable message: Undetectable Equals Untransmittable. All of the marches were gathered on Instagram under the hashtag #LovePositive.

“It is our duty to spread this information to the largest audience, because the biggest harm caused to people affected by HIV is not caused by the virus, but by the daily discriminations they have to face.”

Aurélien Beaucamp, Aides Executive Director

Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Paris, rue de Rivoli – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Nantes
Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Nantes
Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy

U = U

Communication de la marche des fiertés 2017 pour l’association Aides.

À l’aube de la journée internationale de lutte contre le sida le 1er décembre dernier, Aides a révélé, lors d’une campagne de communication réalisée par TBWA, une découverte scientifique récente, largement confirmée mais difficilement acceptée : un séropositif sous traitement ne transmet plus le virus. Pour appuyer diffuser la nouvelle lors des Gay Prides et marches des fiertés à travers toute la France, Aides m’a demandé une visualisation simple et graphique de ce message.

Nous avons exploité l’univers graphique et lexical des formules mathématiques, pour mettre en avant sa garantie scientifique : U = U, c’est l’équation qui certifie cette découverte à travers un message-clé, compréhensible internationalement : undetectable = untransmittable. Toutes ses apparitions sont rassemblées sur Instagram avec le #LovePositive.

« Il est de notre responsabilité de faire connaître cette information au plus grand nombre, car ce qui pèse aujourd’hui le plus sur la qualité de vie des personnes séropositives, ce n’est pas le virus. Ce sont les discriminations quotidiennes qu’elles subissent »

Aurélien Beaucamp, président de Aides

Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Paris, rue de Rivoli – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Nantes
Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Nantes
Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy
Paris – © Cyril Marcilhacy